Author Topic: Ukrainian Butter and Egg Bread (6 Strand Braid)  (Read 20029 times)

Olga Drozd

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ukrainianclassickitchen.ca
Ukrainian Butter and Egg Bread (6 Strand Braid)
« on: November 29, 2009, 05:11:29 PM »
Ukrainian Kalach / Butter and Egg Bread (6 Strand Braid)

This is my first attempt to make a braid with 6 strands.  I think it came out pretty good.

This is a beautiful, easy to make -- close textured bread which slices beautifully.  It makes the best toast and is excellent for tea sandwiches.  I also used a dough enhancer -- a 1/4 tsp. of powdered ginger added to the yeast mixture.

1 Tablespoon dried yeast
1/4 cup lukewarm water
1/4 cup melted and cooled butter (or oil)
1 Tablespoon sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoons salt
1/2 cup boiling water
1/4 cup cold water
4 cups all purpose flour

EGG WASH:

1 egg yolk beaten with 1 tsp. water

Proof the yeast in the lukewarm water with 1/2 teaspoon of the sugar.  Place the butter, salt, and rest of the sugar in the mixing bowl and pour over the boiling water.  Mix well and add the cold water, the eggs, and the yeast mixture.  Stir well and add about 1/3 of the flour.  Beat very well, adding more flour gradually until mixture gets too stiff to beat and leaves the sides of the bowl.  Turn out and knead until satiny adding only enough flour to prevent sticking.  I like to throw my dough on the counter for about 20 times after kneading.